My Neck IS a Vital Part of Me

Standard

Go into this post with the idea in the back of your head that I have a degree in English and a minor in History. I’m skeptical AAAAANNNDDD I’m kind of in a pissy mood.

Random thought…..

I’m not a big fan of vampires.

I know in this era and in my generation, there’s a lot of hype about vampires because of Twilight. Don’t get me wrong, Twilight did get a considerable amount of people reading. I like that. Whenever a book comes on the scene and gets people to read, I really like it. I roll my eyes at it and say I will never read it, but I usually give in and do because I want to know what the hype is all about.

I have read Twilight. I understand the hype. I was addicted to them for a while as well. I read them because I got sick of everyone bugging me about reading them. The books do have a certain appeal that I just can’t put my fingure on. They definitely aren’t the most thought-provoking books out there. I would almost but them in the same category as the Harry Potter series but I understand what makes the Harry Potter series attractive to the followers.

One of the funniest ways I have heard Twilight described is like this…”Some girl moves to Oregon from like Arizona or somewhere and then she meets this sickly kid and she starts to feel funny. Then they go play baseball and they chase her and they die” I about died with laughter. The guy who said that was kind of a geeky looking guy and he said it with a straight face.

One of my things is that vampires have kind of been a big thing for a long time. They have been in a lot of civilizations through time. Stephanie Meyer did not invent the vampire, neither did Ann Rice or Bram Stoker. I’m glad my friends are starting to back off the vampires, it’s getting old. And the thing is, everyone is like that, not just my friends.

I liked other books, books that will make me think and challenge me. Books like Dracula are more challenging when it comes to plot and stuff and I understand some people can’t handle everything that Dracula has to offer. I didn’t when I first read it.

But Twighlight is a good easy read for de-stressing after a long day. They’re easy for me to read and won’t take a lot of time out of my life.

I’m not totally against the whole vampire thing. I understand why people are attracted the idea of vampires. The idea of being immortal is attractive to some. I am not some. I’m okay with dying one day. There are other reasons, I’m sure to people liking vampires but that’s the only one I can come up with.

I think Twilight has added some more to the folk-lore of vampires as other vampire books before have so looking at vampires today is a totally different ball game than 100 years ago or even 30 years ago.

Just to put this out there, I have an old English Professor that would hate that I even let Twilight even escape from my mouth.

I know this post was kind of a random post and was kind of every where but I am an English major that’s the way we think and speak and function.

Leave me comments Yo!

