I’ve Come Back

Standard

I’m back blogging. And with tiredness invading my body. Here’s some things I’ve learned in the past month and a half.

1. When you have knowledge of a stressful month, the next month is going to be just as stressful.

2. When you find a shattered window at work, call the police not your dad.

3. When you tell your mom about the above situation…..she laughs hysterically.

Anyway. I thought I would talk about the books I’ve read since the last time I talked about what I’ve read and that, I believe, was The Hunger Games series. Don’t worry this won’t be long because it’s only been 3 books.

Plum Lovin’ Janet Evanovich. Eh, it was okay. It’s one of the books between the numbers of the Stephanie Plumb novels so I read it out of sequence from the series. I think I read the first 2 books in the series really to quick and I need to take a break from it and read it order to really start the series again. Not that this book sucked, it’s just it was too quick.

Divergent Veronica Roth. If I had read this before The Hunger Games Trilogy, I would have liked it way better. The two drew too many parallels for me. Not that either is bad and both have original ideas but for me, I think that the teenage dystopian novels are about the same things and aimed for girls. Now that’s not a bad thing. If these books get girls reading, I’m glad and I wouldn’t mind reading these two separately if I had spaced them out a little more. (are we seeing a trend here? I need to space things out a little better) Decent book at the right time.

Holmes on the Range Steve Hockensmith. Breath of fresh air. I’ve read so many “Woman” and “teenage girl” novels lately so this western mystery was a great change. I did the audio version of this. Now, I’ve talked about how my father is somewhat of a cowboy and the Western Channel is always on at my parents’ house. So I grew up with westerns lying around the house. This was a well done book. It had a very distinct voice (in my opinion) and was like listening to the old timers that sit around the campfire…practically my childhood. I really liked it. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone because westerns are an acquired taste. I have the taste.

I’m reading another western right now. I forgot the name, so I’ll update you later but it reminds me of “Dances with Wolves” in a way. I’ll blog about it later but I’m only about half way through.

2 responses »

Leave me comments Yo!

