Medora: My bad first day

Standard

So Medora, North Dakota. It’s this little historic western tourist trap in southwestern North Dakota nestled in the scenic Badlands. Working in this little town was my job for the summers of 2007,2008 and 2009. The first in housekeeping and 2 in ice cream stores. This year however when they sent me the contract for the summer I had my parents throw it away for me because I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it because of my internship and well you know becoming a full-fledged adult. Well I gave it a second thought and caved.

Here is why I say caved.

Most of the town is run by the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation. It is a non-profit started by this millionare named Harold Schafer, who isn’t with us but his amamzing wife Sheila is. The board of the foundation has made some decisions that I do not agree with. I understand them from a business stand point but I think business sucks sometimes. AND I also say caved because work sucked last year.

So I started today and I work til Sunday, because that’s all the time I could afford. I walked in and they were like MEGAN! and they got me ready and they gave me keys and told me the ice cream managers weren’t there. I knew this. I had talked to the managers the night before. We were talking and they were telling me about this new girl i was working with and they gave me an impression that she wasn’t the roundest rock in the Badlands.

That’s a true story.

She showed up an hour and 10 minutes late and almost forgot to punch in. I didn’t care because she had orientaion to go to so I only got her for like an hour.

After dinner was when it went all down hill for me. I was working alone. I went back one of the ice cream stores and walked into a dark back room. ug. Call maitenence. Well we’ll try today but maybe tomorrow. Okay so I went to the other place to get things done over there. The door is swollen up from the paint and such. Call Maitenence. Okay we’ll put you on the list. Great Thanks.

Here’s what happened the rest of the day. I cut both my thumbs within 5 minutes of each other. I almost didn’t get my broom heads, I worked alone and got almost everything done and this made me cranky, my knee is bruised and it was muggy hot out. That was my problem. The muggy hot. I don’t deal well with heat. I never have. So by the end of the day I was dripping with sweat and wanting to cry.

Granted this doesn’t seem so bad, but for today it was bad. It makes me grateful that I won’t be here all summer just 4 days. I realized that I am not in love with this area the same way I used to. Sad day. This makes my day even worse

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

