The Carnival! The Carnival!

Standard

Yup the carnival rolled into town tonight. It sets up in the mall parking lot and stays there for a while. I ask myself why do I get so excited about the carnival? I haven’t been to the carnival since I was 8, I’m 22 now. Ironically the one that I went to when I was 8 with my grandpa was the same one that is in town now.

Maybe that’s why it gets me excited. See I was grandpa’s little girl. I idolized him. Grandpa died on April Fools day of my senior year. Oh and by the way I’m pretty much the youngest kid, that grandpa remembered at the end so I was the only one that didn’t get to say “hey grandpa I graduated!” The Carnival was something that he and I did when I was 8, just us.

The main reason I remember this particular outing was because of my thumb. I smashed my thumb in the van door and it was bleeding and I ended up walking around with a kleenex on my thumb. That was not the first time I bled that time with the grandparents, I still have a scar on my knee from the other bleeding incident.

Another reason I remember this outing was because it was the first time I was on a ferris wheel. I wasn’t so sure about it because I was horribly afraid of heights but Grandpa coaxed me on the thing. It was fun.

Anyway the carnival gets me excited even if I don’t go. It’s just an idiosyncrasy.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

