SOLE

Standard

So I have these shoes. They’re black,

they’re Nike,

they’re high tops

and have bright orange shoe laces.

The laces barely have holes to keep them in.

They’ve been around pretty much forever. My sister wore them when she was in high school helping around the farm and then she left and I inherited them from her. They’ve been around a good 15 years. They aren’t pretty. They’re ugly. They probably have a smell I can’t smell.

We did a lot of work in them. Like pretend to be fence posts when moving cattle, weaning cattle, branding what? oh yeah cattle. We did random farm stuff in them. Like wash cars.

Our cars get dirty, especially after it rains and we drive in the mud, yeah, it happens.

well I was going to wash cars today. So I got my awesome old shoes on and well socks to. Because let’s face it. These shoes are a little gross.

I went out to wash cars and it was fine. Until I was like “hey, um, my toes hurt and I looked down and the bottom of my shoe had come off and was making my foot a shoe length longer. I don’t appreciate that.

I took pictures of the burial and such and updated my Facebook status.

So my beloved shoes that have been around forever are dead. Let there be a tear, somewhere.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

