I was born in the wrong century.

Standard

So I’m reading “Pride and Prejudice” for like the fourth or fifth time. A couple of those times were for school. They weren’t always because I felt like it. I just felt like I should throw that out there.

I have always said I’m more of a Charlotte Bronte fan rather than a Jane Austen fan. I think part of this is because everyone knows Austen or has at least heard of her. Bronte is not as well-known. So it might be a sub conscious thing. But I think a bigger thing is because “Jane Eyre” was the first classic I ever read, self started at about 13, and understood. I think I related to Jane a lot. She was kind of an outcast of society. And I’m not an outcast of society but I kind of felt like it at times in jr. and sr. high school.

Anyway. I think I like 19th century writers for one MAJOR reason. They know a value of a word. Most of the books at this time were not based on dialogue like books are today. Authors like Austen and Bronte put more value in the internal. These authors have a way with word that can catch my attention and keep it. They develop their characters fully like they’re personal friends of the author.

I was taking in a mental inventory the other day of the books I have and have read recently and was trying to think of who would come close to having a good grasp on what a novel used to be, or to me at least. The closest was Leif Enger. His writing is fan-freaking-tastic. I found his first novel in Medora, the tourist trap I used to work in, a couple years ago. I read the first chapter in the store, it was short, and fell in love with his writing. I’m never sure how I feel about his plots but they are intriguing.

I talk a lot about “Outlander”. Yeah, amazing but how those books are written don’t fascinate me like the 19th century. Those authors knew how to freaking write a sentence. They’re my heroes.

I think that our culture has drifted away from our internal thoughts and that’s why I was having a hard time finding an author of the 19th century caliber. As always, I think this is due to several reasons. One is probably because, we’re scared of our thoughts. Everyone now is scared of doing something offensive and being sued so it is easier to not think as much about what’s going on in our life. The other reason is because we were raised not to. My generation has had a lot handed to us and that includes our thoughts. I also think that blogging gives a person back their internal voice. We don’t have to carry out a conversation and we get to figure out our thoughts. I like that. Maybe because I grew up on a farm and could think a lot I like that.

If anyone ever has any suggestions on who could capture me like the 19th century….

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

