The Bet.

Standard

I have a best friend from different stages of my life. I have the two girls I was best friends with in elementary (Lacey and Ashley), the best friend from High School (HaLeigh), best friend from college (Amber) and then I have my best friend from Medora; Mary Jo.

Medora, which I have briefly mentioned before, is the small western tourist trap in south-western North Dakota. Mary Jo and I met out there working. It was my second year and her first. I was helping out on flower crew one day and that’s where she was working all summer. We bonded almost instantly. After work that day, we sat out in our hall way with our roommates and we talked and laughed and BOOM! friends forever.

Just for some clarification here. Mary Jo and I are different. She likes hot weather, I like cold. She’s more dramatic, I’m more laid back. At one time we kept saying that if one of us had to switch genders and we were dating, I’d be the man because that’s kind of who I am in our relationship. (let it be known we are not gay, we just have creepy conversations sometimes. I could tell stories of our weird conversations, but that’s years in the making.)

The one thing that we both love is completely random conversations. We refer to them as shuffling through an iPod. We skip around a lot. One conversation that we talk about ALL the time now is the conversation of the bet.

I should stop right here and explain something because it is important. I feel like I talk about marriage a lot. I may seem like I’m obsessed with it, but I’m not. It just comes up a lot. I’m okay with being alone, I’m right out of college, I need to figure out how to live my life independently. Right now I’m not in a position to be in a healthy relationship. But getting married would be nice, one day, when I’m ready. New Years resolution right there: Not talk about marriage all the time.

Anyway, back to the story. Mary Jo and I are single. We’re okay with this. Last winter about finals week we were talking about guys, a common thing for us to be talking about. We’re girls we talk about guys a lot. Anyway we started talking about getting married and both of us were denying getting married first. To each of us, getting married is pretty far away right now. So we kept arguing, kept arguing, kept arguing. Finally we got to an agreement. The first one married would have to pay the other one $100 and a dozen cookies. We still argue about it today but we do agree I’m going to be the one with children first, go figure.

I am pretty much determined to win this bet even with how much I want to get married. I think for the most part, I want her to be happy, that’s why I want to win. I don’t see it getting in the way of my happiness but she’s my best friend, she needs the best. aaaaaand I just like to win. So that’s that.

The end.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

