Grandma’s Sense

Standard

So I talked about my grandma before. Actually I talked about Grandma’s hands, how they are strong and soft and reflect her as a person.

I didn’t mention how she likes to tell me what to do with my life did I? Well, she does.

Yesterday was Grandma’s birthday. She’s 87…….and fiesty. And because I rock as a granddaughter, I almost forgot her birthday. On Tuesday I was like “Oh, Grandma’s Birthday is tomorrow” and then I almost forget until like 10 minutes before we were supposed to leave for the church Christmas pageant. I insisted on calling her at this point. My mother who is the piano player, I’m sure, was thrilled. But in my defense, Grandma’s not much of a phone talker, she likes to talk in person better.

Grandma and I have meaningful discussions.

I still don’t have a full-time job and she was like “It must be so frustrating to keep putting in a résumé and then wait for it….” at this point I rolled my eyes and was like you have no idea.”I keep praying for you to have patience. Then I pray for a man to come with this job” I almost laughed. I love my grandma but as I’m sure I have said before, as much as I want a long-term relationship and babies and the such, I am not ready for that kind of step.

But then, I realize that my grandma makes sense. She is a woman of great faith and if that is what God wants her to pray for and then answer it, then who am I to argue. I’ve said this before, but I want to be my Grandma when I grow up. She is so grounded and happy, encouraging and everything. She has done everything that I want to. Good thing I’m in her family.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

