Rawhide!

Standard

I finished “Comanche Moon” last night. There has been a weight lifted off me. Seriously. That book was 716 pages long, it’s heavy.

Anyway, it was a good book. I haven’t read many westerns before. I have definitely seen them. My dad is a cowboy, he watches the Western Channel almost religiously.

I was thinking about this the other day and then again this morning when “The Man from Snowy River” came on that I would have loved to see that movie in theaters. It’s scenic, the camera angles and everything is amazing, it’s purely epic. It would have been amazing in theaters. To bad that it was made 6 years before I was born.

I have begun to be pretty good at identifying westerns. I never thought that would happen but with living at home now I get to watch a lot of westerns. “The Man from Snowy River” “The Red Headed Stranger” and certain episodes of “Gunsmoke”, “Lawman” “Have Gun will Travel” are among some of these westerns. It makes me feel kind of weird to know these episodes so well and to know all the names of the characters. I have actually started to enjoy westerns. It’s funny because my dad and I will be watching something and he’ll tell me what happens before it happens and then it’ll happen and we’ll look at each other and he’ll say “Told you”. It’s a fun game, it really is. But at least it’s a conversation starter.

Back to the book. The writing is so good. It’s in character and never leaves character. It took me a long time to read it because it is a long book and because I’m not used to the language. That might seem funny since it’s written in English. But it’s not. Each generation, each occupation, each geographical area has a way to speak. 19th century Texas Rangers aren’t any different. I appreciate that the book never lapses into a modern way of saying things. It’s always how things must have been said then. I like authenticity in books, those books make me happy, they really do.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

