What do you have to offer Canada?

Standard

After every holiday/family get-together, I have this kind of let down feeling. It’s like I’m disappointed all the work and fun is over. It could also be like being like someone just took away your reason for living. Whatever you feel is necessary fill it in there.

This holiday was no exception. Here is the highlights of Christmas Day.

I forgot to give my niece her present. In my defense it was hiding behind part of the tree that was thick and I couldn’t see it from where I was dishing them out AND I had a little 3-year-old boy helping me hand them out, talk about distraction. But don’t worry she has it now.

I had a meaningful conversation with my cousin who is just above me in age. It was about Canada. We talked about how it felt like central Canada has nothing to offer. No hills, no real main attractions, not even many animals. I’m sorry central Canada. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen you, so if we’re wrong and even if we’re right, please don’t be offended, we hold you in the highest respect.

I had a conversation with another cousin, the one who’s right under me and beat me out for being the baby. It went something like this.
M-I like my job, for now. -pause- It’s not like I’m doing anything inappropriate.
E-(immediate response) Like telemarketing?
M-Exactly like that.

We also had a conversation about pie. Our grandma makes the most amazing pies ever. It’s a family tradition to have pies at a holiday family gathering. I looked at Evan and said, I thought quietly, “What happens when Grandma stops making pies?” He responded with telling me that one of us two would have to keep it going and my older cousin said “I trust Megan with that job”. That sparked a whole conversation about when the last time everyone single at the table made a meal, that was 3 people.

I puked. Yeah, I know that sucks. I have been sick for a while and I still have a little cough and after dinner I had a little tickle in my throat and I excused myself to go urinate and take care of that tickle. Well, I coughed so hard I puked all over the front top of my sweatshirt and down my black cami. At least it wasn’t white. That would be unfortunate.

My nephew insisted on calling my cousins “Hey you.” even though he knew their names. I have a feeling he is going to be a very funny kid.

There are many other memorable things that happened. I just can’t think of any and this post is long enough, I believe. Have a happy New Year!

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

4 responses »

  1. What do I have to offer Canada?

    Culture
    Interestingness
    An accent that is more pleasant than nails on a chalkboard
    Warmth
    Less French people
    The Bush family

    Totally kidding. I actually plan to immigrate one day, as growing up in North Dakota has already made me quite accustomed to the cold, I dig Canada’s reputation of politeness, and hockey is my favorite sport.

Leave me comments Yo!

