May I have your Hand?

Standard

It’s no secret I read right? I mean it’s all over my blog, I mention it the blog’s name for heaven’s sake. I may be blonde, I may have my moments where a duh and a hand to the head is necessary but I can read.

On that note, let me just say that without books, I’d really be lost.

Let me point out one other thing. I like movies. I’ve pointed that out many times on here as well. It’s kind of the other relaxer at night, when I’m crabby.

But sometimes, just sometimes (beginning to be more sometimes), these two loves of mine are fused and one is the other and the other is one. If this marriage of two is done well, I don’t mind. If it isn’t done well, well, get a divorce. Let me give examples.

“The Princess Bride”- Love the movie. I can quote most of the movies doing the voices. “I’m not a witch, I’m your wife but after that I don’t know if I even want to be that anymoooorrree!” Just read the book. It’s different from the movie, but still very good. In this case, stay married.

“The Time Traveler’s Wife” Divorce, divorce, divorce. I’ve read the book. I can’t say I’m a HUGE fan of the book but it’s enjoyable. After ignoring my friend’s advice, I recently bought the movie, mainly because I like Rachel McAdams (who wouldn’t like the girl who had Ryan Gossling’s heart for a while). The movie left so much out. It made the book look sucky, movie was confusing and ugh.

“A Walk to Remember”- Stay married. The book and movie could be separate entities. They are very different but still very good.

Another book and movie that can stay together and share the same air is “The Five People you Meet in Heaven”. Either way it’s a story that makes you sigh and kind of grin.

One couple that might be in trouble is “Eragon”. The movie made no effort to make room for the rest of the series of books. I understand it’s hard to make movie sequels. But if there was a follow-up movie, which I’m pretty sure there won’t (it’s been about five years since the movie) it would stray so far from the books. It could be a disaster.

“The Chronicles of Narnia” is a series that’s being done right. The movies are being held pretty true to the books and they are made epic like which they should be.

“Jane Eyre: Masterpiece Theater” YES! I would compare this to the old married couple couple. It’s four hours long so it’s kind of like your grandparents when they go senile-ish or when they want to keep you around more. I didn’t mean to offend by that comment, but if I did, sorry, it’s just an analogy. But very close to the book and I LOVE the book. Did my senior project on it.

I love my lists like this. Maybe I’ll do some more one day. Stay tuned.

Leave me comments Yo!

