Come on Aldean, Make it RED!

Standard

My family is full of farmers. My dad and brother farm. My dad’s brother-in-law farms as well as one of his sons. One of my mom’s brothers farms, his son does stuff with farmer and has a farm girl wife and the other two were very big farm boys. Let’s just say we’re a farming family.

Growing up, I spent a lot of time with my dad’s family. Not really my dad’s brother because they live half the country away in New Mexico but with my dad’s sister and her family. My uncle is a John Deere man. He farms with John Deere, my cousin farms with John Deere, they have John Deere decorations, he dresses in John Deere shirts. I wouldn’t be surprised if he dreamt in John Deere. His granddaughter is dressed in John Deere when she sees grandpa.

My dad and brother, on the other hand, are Case IH men. We grew up with red machinery instead of green and we prefer it that way. It’s not that we’re prejudice, Case just works better for us.

My dad got a Case/International shirt for Christmas and we told him to wear it because Johnny (our uncle) would probably be wearing something John Deere. He wouldn’t do it. See to explain that, we have this little family argument going on. They say Deere all the way and we say no. So, wearing the shirt would have been, well, I don’t know but it would have been a good conversation topic at the table, not that we need a shirt to start conversation– we’re pretty good at coming up with something.

Another part of this Deere vs. Case thing being, when Jason Aldean came out with his song “Big Green Tractor” I thought it was a good song. But I decided that I wanted it to be a RED tractor being that I grew up with RED equipment. Then I decided that if any guy wanted to woo me with that song, he would have to change the words. NO MATTER WHAT! If he said green I would be verrrrrrry tempted to walk away right then. I wouldn’t though. I’m not that against green.

Why do I post stuff about tractors? Other than being a farm kid and other than farming being my family’s lively hood and an occupation I admire greatly? I don’t have a reason. This is just who I am. I can’t help that.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

