Hi! My name is_____! And I have a Problem!

Standard

I would like to think that I am a pretty grounded person, most of the time. I try to keep my activities balanced to keep me from being obsessive. I thought “I don’t have any addictions, I’m not obsessed with anything”

That’s a lie.

Just because I’m not addicted to drugs and alcohol doesn’t mean I’m an addict of something. “Confessions of a Shopaholic” is an example of that. I have good addictions, they don’t harm me. They just take up my time and sometimes my money, but who’s really watching? That’s right, no one important. Eh, someone important may be watching but it’s harmless. Just think of all the support groups there are. Shoppers anonymous, support groups for single moms, I mean options are endless.

So I was giving some thought to what I am addicted to. These are going to be lame. So, don’t judge.

1. Embroidery Does this make me old like? Wait, I don’t care. It’s my addiction. I don’t want a support group. But really I’m on the verge of having a problem. I will pretty embroider anything that is cloth and I have a pattern for. I like just to make things more interesting is that wrong? or illegal? It shouldn’t be and I don’t think that it is.

2. Random Movies and TV shows. I all ready talked about my random movie quotes. I watch movies a lot. I sometimes am kind of like a hermit because I live in the middle of no where but that’s just an excuse. Examples of my random movies/shows…”Corner Gas” its Canadian, it’s pointless, it’s hilarious. “House” “NCIS” “The Musketeer” based on the novel “The Three Musketeers” decent movie. It’s kind of a growing list. But they give me something to look forward to.

3. Books I haven’t read all of the books I have and I want to get more. In my defence, I didn’t get them by choice, they were gifts or I just haven’t had time for them yet. So back off, it’s a good reason. I have this dream that one day I will have a wall of shelves filled with books. It’s a nice dream. I’m on my way to getting the books but shelves aren’t coming soon. But I have enough books to keep me happy for quite some time.

4. Historic Places and things This is a weird one. I have this minor (history) that allows me to know things that others wouldn’t and it gets me frustrated when someone moves into a historic house and doesn’t take care of it or breaks something historical or breaks the binding of a book. I went on a tangent one time when I found out someone was living in L. Frank Baum’s house in Aberdeen, SD. My poor friend had to listen to it and it was a long tangent.

I know these seem really pointless obsessions, but they’re mine and they are what make me special.

I do have friends that have way more addicting personalities. I had a roommate once tha was pretty much addicted to way more harmful stuff that I am. She drank way more than I did, she tried drugs, she was liking food way more than I do and that’s saying something. So I feel justified when I say that I am obsessed with something trivial like “Corner Gas”. But seriously go watch a few episodes, that’s all that took it for me. I didn’t like the first episode but after a few, episodes not beers, it was good.

What are other addictions I’m not thinking of?….

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

