Oh Spring

Standard

Spring does funny things to me. I don’t lie, it’s true. L has seen this a lot in the past week-ish.

See I’m a farm kid.

That should explain a lot but for those of you who don’t know any farm kids, I’ll explain.

Farmers plant things, right? Farm kids help out their farmer parents. So I helped out. Most of the time I was in the house making meals, cleaning house, fielding calls, doing laundry or baking, I mean that’s just a few things that I would be doing. But I would get to go outside and help every once in a while. One of my favorite things to do was take the pick-up and go run out to a field or pasture.

~Side Note~ Last night I was hanging out with L and her friend and his roommate came by and the roommate was just learning how to drive and he’s around my age if not a little older. The first time I drove I was….well I was young and didn’t have my license and there’s a lot more other things that I could say there but I won’t.

Planting will be starting probably late April to early May. It’s the middle of March, it’s coming quick. I’m really excited for planting. I mean not seeing the guys sucks but I always am fascinated by the process of growing things. It’s soooo….amazing. How you could start with one little seed and then by the end of the summer, if all goes well, it’s full-grown into the plant, whether it be corn, wheat, sunflowers or whatever. I really want a garden. This happens every spring. I don’t know the first thing about gardening and I don’t have anywhere to start a garden but I really want one. I want to grow things. I feel like it’s in my blood as a farm kid.

And spring means new calves too. My parents have about 30 calves on the ground all ready. Granted they have about 270 to calve out but still yea for new-born calves. I would take a calf over a full-grown cow/heifer/bull any day. They’re so cute. And then sometimes you have to bring one into the house because of the weather or some physical reason and you stick you lip out and want to start making baby noises at them because they’re so dang cute.

There are so many new starts in spring. Everything is starting to wake up. Including a person’s spirit. After the cold weather the nice weather makes me antsy. It makes me not want to be outside and I wish I had taken a job that I was outside more. Epic sigh.

I love spring.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

Leave me comments Yo!

