Cold Hands, Warm Heart

Standard

I grew up in South Western North Dakota. If you’ve never been to the area, you should know that there is hardly any trees, it can get REALLY cold and there’s a lot of wind.

I’m not complaining about this. I am a cold weather person. I kind of wilt in heat where as Fall-Early spring I thrive. My hands are cold most of the year. The wind doesn’t bother me. It actually calms me, as weird as that is. Now don’t thing that just because I’m talking about the cold, that it is cold here all the time. It gets over 100 here during the summer.

The reason I bring this up is that my paternal grandmother always says “Cold Hands, Warm Heart”. Growing up, I would always be like “Grandma, it’s -20 out, of course people will have cold hands”, even though I totally got the meaning. Side note, I have never heard someone my age say “Cold Hands, Warm Heart” other than the kids in my family, it has always been my parents’ age or older.

I am not living in a town that is being impacted by the oil industry. This community is a small, tight-knit community with core values and to see all these other people come in, that don’t necessarily have the same values is tough. I go to board meetings and some of my older board members are upset that they now have to start locking their doors. Yes that is tough, but really it’s nice in the fact that you know your town isn’t going to die out any time soon.

But what the town (the non-business owner/old-timer town) is that, yes, we should be cautious of strangers, but we shouldn’t think that everyone is going to rob us blind and kick the original town to the curb. We need to take the mentality of “Cold Hands, Warm Heart”. Like I said before, I have cold hands most of the year and I’m not the most cold person ever. We have to take in consideration the inside of someone not the outside. I’m still learning that on a daily basis.

I knew that took me a long time to get to the point but I wanted to illustrate that this mentality has been put in my brain since birth and that I understand cold.

It’s Friday, I’m tired, work’s being stupid so if this doesn’t make sense, I apologize.

Leave me comments Yo!

