And it goes on…and on…and on…

Standard

Update on my hand, because I threw that out yesterday. It looks better, it doesn’t hurt much anymore. So good deal.

As promised yesterday, I will be talking about series today. I feel like I get obsessed with a series and I’ll talk about it and then I get bored or the series ends and I feel the “what do I do with my life now?”

The Outlander Series by Diana Gabaldon. I know for a fact I’ve talked about her. I love all the research she puts into a book, it makes it more accurate. BUUUT I also hate that because it makes it so long between books. I got lucky when I first started the series, it was right before book 7 and so I just got to lead into that. Now I’ve been waiting, not so patiently for book 8. Gabaldon left me with a million cliffhangers and I want to hit her for that because there’s over a 3 year wait for book 8. The Lord John Series didn’t do anything for me. (Maybe because Lord John is gay and Jamie isn’t and he’s Jamie.) But love how she presents the characters, I love/hate the characters. I love the history. Yay. p.s. got the first book for fifty cents. SCORE!

Garth Nix’s Abhorsan (sp?) Good series. I thought they were pretty well written when I read them back in the day.

Stephanie Plumb series by Janet Evanovich. I just recently got into reading her. I love the humor. I’m still figuring out the writing style, I mean I’m only a book and a half into the series, but it’s beginning to be one of my favorite series as an adult. Can you can tell I haven’t read many series as an adult? But it’s a fun series, I feel like they’re good books for a vacation or something after a heavy subjected book.

Wicked series- (the ones with the musical). I wasn’t a fan. I don’t know why. I take that back. “The Wizard of Oz” the movie creeps me out. Yeah, weird I know. I can’t watch it at night.

The Chronicles of Narnia- C.S. Lewis One word….WIN! I loved them growing up, I love them now. Simple books, great story.

Grandma’s Attic series by Arleta Richardson. YA series. My second favorite YA series right after Mandie. It’s historical fiction, go figure it’s me. If you haven’t figured out, I’m drawn to historical fiction. I’m trying to break out of that. I really am. But late 1800’s, early 1900’s and midwestern.

Mandie series by Lois Gladys Leppard Again YA Historical fiction late 1800’s, early 1900’s. It’s very moral. It’s not like you have to feel like you have to censor the books. There is a religious background just like the Grandma’s series. I had mentioned that I had lost or misplaced the books I had but my grandma just moved and she had the entire series and she gave them to my 2 1/2 year old niece who can read (ha). So I borrowed them. YAY.

Honorable mention YA is the Babysitter Club series-Ann M. Martin and the Sweet Valley High series-don’t know the author off-hand sorry and Eragon series by Christopher weirdish last name. I like these series but they weren’t driving forces in my life.

I feel like I can’t get around talking about the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer. When I first read them, I was a little obsessed. I remember talking about it in my Shakespeare class and my professor gave me the dirtiest look ever. All my English professors were like that. You don’t dare like this series as an English major at my alum. Re-thinking the series, yes I’m not as big of a fan now. They’re, for me, overly simplistic.

Side note- I should have mentioned this in my review post but YouTube Stephen King’s response to Twilight fans to his comments on Twilight. It will entertain.

I understand they’re popular and why they’re popular. And if it gets people reading, then good. I hope it leads to more reading. I just roll my eyes now. I don’t even enjoy the movies. I worked at a theater opening night of the last movie and I stayed and watched it. (it was a midnight showing) Eh, whatever.

Again should mention series. Harry Potter. I enjoyed these books a lot more than the Twilight books. I like how they’re written more. I like the character development more. Yes I like them more from a writing perspective than the Twilight series. But I think both are going to be around for a long time.

Books on the radar.

40 Shades of Gray has just recently came to my attention. I realize that there are/will be more books after this. I hear that this book is a little racy? Opinions on this? Let me know. I want to know if this is worth my while. My librarian knew as much as I did about this book. So let me know.

I will be reading The Hunger Games soon. I have it in my posession.

Also on my radar is the Inkheart series. I’m getting there. I just have a lot to read.

Again, any recommendations/suggestions let me know.

Leave me comments Yo!

