It’s Time to Bring the Piggy Bank Back

Standard

So I got these piggy banks today at my museum. I was talking to a board member when they came and I pulled one out and we were both like “AHHHH”. So Freaking cute! I just wanted to say that. I miss the days where it was okay that you used a piggy bank for your change, now that I’m in adulthood I have to use like a mug or something. Not that mugs aren’t legit but I miss piggy banks. I had a Rainbow Bright one, and I put tape on her knee when I was little because I thought she had a boo-boo. Anyway, on to what I really want to talk about.

Last night I was watching “Pride and Prejudice” with Kiera Knightly in it. Matthew MacFayden is so lovely in that movie, I think anyway. But I was thinking about the number of friends that I would have to explain the movie to. It’s a good movie on its own but there are undertones of early 19th century society that people don’t always notice.

I didn’t count many people. I then started to count the number of friends that would give me a lost look. That was a bigger number. Now don’t get me wrong, I have smart friends but when I start nerding out, they don’t follow or they don’t care. (I obviously need new friends right?)

Then I started missing college. I miss the intellectual conversations about literature that are laced with major English Lit. nerdacy and movie quotes from “The Princess Bride” (That happened once we had a class that was over IVN, tv school, and the system was down and we started quoting “The Princess Bride”, the professor even started in on it.) Anyway, I came to a conclusion. I need to move or be social and get smart friends here.(I’m going back and forth on this decision)

The longer that I’m here and out of college, I understand the importance of intelligence and surrounding yourself with people that will stretch your intellect. I almost hate that I’ve read all these great books since college and there’s no one I can talk to about. I love the town where I’m at because I like the small town setting, but I’m also missing the larger towns with 24/7 restaurants and supermarkets. I never thought I would say that but I am.

Anyway, I miss book discussions, intellectual discussions and being young enough to use a piggy bank shaped like Rainbow Bright (which I still use BTW).

Leave me comments Yo!

