I Have Been Left Hungry.

Standard

So, I did it. What did I do you may ask. Well here’s a list of what I COULD have done.

swam with a Beta Fish

had a discussion with a unicorn

Made a to-scale replica of the Statue of Liberty over the weekend.

But those are all wrong. Really, my life isn’t that non-existent that I would make a replica of the Statue of Liberty. No, I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I haven’t seen the movie because I’m one of those people that like to read the book first. Anyway I read the book. It didn’t take me long because it’s a simple book. There are spoilers so you have been warned.

I enjoyed this book. I take that back, I enjoyed the majority of this book. There were parts of this book that I sat there and I was like “What?”. Like in the third part and they start kissing to keep each other going. I mean really? I mean, I know they were supposed to be acting like their in love but I would rather the guy that I’m in love with like shake me or something. Kissing would not keep my attention. I have a little bit of ADD, I think, it comes and goes. Anyway, it wouldn’t have worked for me. But they are like 16 so that could have worked.

Another thing that I wished they would have touched on more and I didn’t realize it until someone mentioned it, I wished they would have talked more about the fall of the society before the districts. Maybe that will come in one of the other books.

I feel like some of these things are to advanced for a y.a. novel. I understand it to be a y.a. novel because who can understand what’s going on. With that I mean that it’s not simply written but it’s not difficult writing. But for me it’s not y.a. in subject matter. Children killing children is not something to have children read. Call me old-fashioned…

With that, how do you rate this book? Do you rate it on the writing or the subject matter. I didn’t hate the writing style I mean it’s y.a. writing and I am adult enough for the subject matter.

I was entranced by the book. It’s one of those books that just sucked me in. I was fascinated with the concept, it’s just that I don’t necessarily like the subject matter for some youner y.a.ers. I don’t mean to sound negative with everything.

Anyway back to the book. I finished the book today at work while I was on break and I came back out and I go, “I’m so mad, now I have to read the other two books”. I wasn’t expecting to like this book. My only fuss is that my library isn’t open today because it’s Memorial Day. Memorial Day is totally messing up my entire day. Not that I’m not appreciative of the true meaning of the day, it’s just everything is closed. Like the bank. And the coffee shop.

Anyway, read it. Even for just the experience.

Leave me comments Yo!

