The Rhythm

Standard

Back in the day, when I was about 13, I went through a Temptaions phase. For those who don’t know who the Temptations are, 2 things. 1. Shame on you. 2. they’re classic. (and for those of you, who still haven’t googled them, they sang “My Girl”).

I have always been a sucker for harmonizing and men who can sing. I swoon like Marie Antoinette putting on her corset over a man who can sing. I can’t help it, I grew up in a musical family so it’s ingrained in me to love well-done music. And dabbling in music myself, I can appreciate a good musician.

Now, I can appreciate a lot of music. My mom was in a singing group from around my birth to about 14 and they sang lots of songs from the 1940’s to the early 1970’s so I had a somewhat good education on music from that era. It has a special place in my heart.

My dad is country. My dad isn’t that musical but every time that we went anywhere one on one with my dad, there would be a country station on the radio. So I listened to early Garth Brooks, Shania Twain and Faith Hill (her “This Kiss” days).

But once I hit high school that music got pushed in the background and singers like Carrie Underwood and Green Day and Gwen Stefani came on the scene and that’s what all my friends were listening to. (Little bit of trivia, we referenced “Hollaback Girl” at my graduation ceremony.)

One genre during my popular music days that I never got into was rap. I had friends that liked rap and would play it around me every so often. I understand where the musicianship lies in rap, I just don’t appreciate it. I grew up classic music. I appreciate harmony, random piano solos and I can go with a guitar solo as well as the next guy. So I have a hard time appreciating the way some of the music is played and the way that the lyrics are sometimes portrayed by the rapper.

Now there are some rapping that I can get into. The easy stuff, for example.

Now don’t think because I’m ranting about rap music that I hate it. I just have a harder time appreciating it like the music I grew up with.

Leave me comments Yo!

