Not Blue yet!

Standard

I decided not to talk about Blue Like Jazz yet mainly because I keep forgetting to have the book on me so I can quote it. Anyway, I’ve read several books since then. So here’s what I thought.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. It’s really interesting. I’ve never really been into science but this book has enough non-science in it to keep my interest. Not only do I feel for the family but I find myself thinking on ethics and how they affect/effect people. I was heart-broken at the end for the family. I can’t imagine going through life like that, knowing your mother’s cells made a huge contribution like that and then finding out that since the cells are no longer in your mother, you as a family member have NO say in what’s done with them. That would be tough. I wanted to punch the scientists in the face a couple times. Good read. If you get the chance to read it, you should.

Nowhere but Up: The Story of Justin Bieber’s Mom by Pattie Mallette. You caught me. I read a book that has a connection to Justin Bieber. I’m not a huge fan of the Biebs. I respect the talent but not a huge fan. I should mention that my mom made me read this. She got this book at “Women of Faith” in Minneapolis. I didn’t mind this book. I didn’t know much about Pattie before this book. I have a lot of respect for her now. She’s a single mom, went through a drug phase and had a tough childhood and she still came out of it and became a Christian. I would recommend this book to some people. I think that a big masculine guy who likes car magazines would like this. He couldn’t relate to having a child and raising that kid like a woman would.

The Book of Lies by Brad Meltzer This book is by the guy who has the show where they try to solve historical mysteries. I feel like he has a lot of conspiracy theories. That’s how his book read: a man who has a mystery to solve who has lot’s of conspiracy theories. It wasn’t bad, it’s a simple book. I didn’t finish it because I got bored with it. Would I recommend it? NO. I mean if it was a person that enjoys boarder-line conspiracy theory mysteries….then yes. But otherwise no. Maybe it was just me but it was simpler than I wanted at the time and it was like “oooooo look out for the bad guy” and “my face is ugly”. (one of the characters has a deformity on his face from an accident, that’s why I say that.)

Leave me comments Yo!

