Since the World isn’t Over yet,

Standard

The world hasn’t ended yet today. Big shocker right? Before I get to what I really am going to talk about, let me share a conversation I had this morning with my sister via text.

She texts me asking if she went 75 mph how many seconds would it take her to go a mile, this went on and I answered. Then I sent her a text saying “Did Santa slack off this year since everything was supposed to end?”. She didn’t know how to respond. Think about that answer and I’ll answer it at the end.

The Mayans were predicting the end of the earth today. Well, I don’t quite believe in the Mayans but what if the world really did end tomorrow? Would you survive a zombie apocalypse? I thought about this. Pretty sure I wouldn’t survive. But I have a tentative list of what literary figures I think would survive. (Come on, did you not see that coming?) This list does not include non-fiction.

James from James and the Giant Peach by Roland Dahl. Think about it, he’s a kid on a giant peach with insects. Endless food supply. True story. That peach would take forever to eat and then if he got really desperate, the insects.

Obviously Edward and Bella from Twilight by Stephanie Meyer (I just puked a little in my mouth). Can vampires survive zombies? I sure hope not because I really don’t want them to survive.

Harry Potter and pretty much everyone from that series. They have magic. BOOM take that Twilight.

Jane Eyre from the book of the same name by Charlotte Bronte. Because she has spunk. I swear she should have died several times in that book but she kept saying no to death. I totally respect that. I want to be just like her. Sometimes.

Jamie, Claire and young Ian from the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon. They should have been dead several times as well. They’re tough, they know how to fight and heck, they have dirks. That makes them automatically awesome and better than death.

Aslan from the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. He’s God there. No one kills God.

Lemuel Gulliver from Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift. He’s survived a lot and he talks to horses. He survived how many years away from the human race so that makes him a survivor. In my head he looks like Ted Danson. That doesn’t make him have special powers but it should. I like Ted Danson.

John Fell from The Books of Fell by M.E. Kerr. I chose him because he’s smart. He can survive on his wits.

Katniss from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Hello, why not. She can kill other humans if she has to and can kill her own food.

I’m sure there’s a lot more that can survive, but that’s just a quick list. And I didn’t include a lot because I didn’t want them to survive. As horrible as that sounds, it’s true. Like Voldemort. Who want’s him to survive?

To answer my question on Santa slacking off I responded in, obviously the world isn’t ending and the elves do all of Santa’s work for him, so it’s really a trick question.

Leave me comments Yo!

