Dragons Were Meant to be Cool.

Standard

I have several literary obsessions. The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, anything written by or about Theodore Roosevelt’s family, James Rollins novels, the list could go on and on. But I promise that it won’t. For a while, yes a while, I was really into the Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I did grow out of this series. Here’s some things that I greatly appreciated about it.

1. The names of the book. Eragon, Brom etc. The only name that didn’t seem quite right to me was Angela. Maybe that was the point? Or Paolini just wanted to put his sister in the novel. Every other name fits in with the genre (y.a. fantasy). Angela just seemed simple. Whatever. There is no Edward though. Dang overused name. Even the name of the places are amazing.

2. The Scenery/places. I kind of got lost in the places. I heard, now this is hearsay but, that he based it on the mountains of Montana. I haven’t been that far west, but I could buy it.

3. The intricacies of the story. There was a lot going on. I like a book that can keep my mind going without being stupidly overworked. Now these books weren’t overly hard but they still made you pay attention. Expectations shouldn’t be to high because it’s a y.a. novel. There were a few twists in the book where they surprised me but it happens.

4. The language of the different cultures. I always have been fascinated by elvish, dwarfs and that kind of cultures’ languages. I don’t know why. I have no explanation.

5. There’s a dragon or 4 I want a dragon. A real one. And it has to be big. And I’d take it out to fly all the time.

I did grow out of this series. Unfortunate. I still watch the movie every once in a while. I really did lose interest after the third book. So there was a relief when the fourth book was done. For those of you who didn’t know, this was only supposed to be a trilogy but Paolini couldn’t get it all into 3 books. There was a lot of things he put into the series and it was probably a good idea that he did 4 books.

I’m really curious to see what else Paolini will bust out in the future.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Christopher Paolini Talks with Peter Orullian Parts 1-3 | Writing Tips

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Books of All Time | Jennifer M Eaton

Leave me comments Yo!

