Yay for Books

Standard

So, I’m back. I had to take a few days to myself to figure myself out. So, because of that, a few updates.

I blogged about my phone once, last week. Here’s the update on that. I put it in rice and it worked…..kind of…..it worked but the screen didn’t power up so, it didn’t work? I went up to Dickinson and got a new phone. It’s nice out but it’s windy. So blowing snow to a huge degree. I had to drive 80 miles, one way, gripping the steering wheel for most of the way and then getting to town and it was fine. AND no one was available to go to El Sombrero with me.:( FYI El Som is the best Mexican place in Dickinson and I love it. And you know how you want to be behind a semi most of the time in situations like this? YUP, they were following me today. BOOOO

I talked to my mommy today. It made me feel better about life, so no more crazy girl posts. I talked to both parents yesterday and one of the first things out of dad’s mouth was that he got a new pick-up. He was excited. It’s red and I guess some striping and it’s obviously a Chevy. I would have been floored if it had been a Ford. We’re not Ford people.

BOOKS!

I’ve finished a few books recently and I want to talk about them. I feel like I’ve read some books lately that I haven’t liked.

On the Wrong Track by Steve Hockensmith. It’s the second book in the Holmes on the Range series and I love this series. This is one book I did like recently. It’s smart, it’s funny, I liked that it was kind of reminiscent of my dad. Read this series if you get the chance. It is western, so be prepared for that. There is a word of profanity here and there but it’s sporadic and it’s how cowboys talk.

Hidden Gem by India Lee. I just finished this last night on my nook. What was it about? If you’ve seen Hannah Montana, there you go. This is the first of a series and I won’t be continuing the series. It’s very high school, almost a cheap high school. Now, I don’t hate high school-ish books but I just couldn’t get into this book and I didn’t enjoy it. This is the kind of book that if I had been in this situation, in high school…..I wouldn’t be in this situation. I avoided situations like in this book in high school. Sometimes I wondered how dumb this girl was to get suckered into some of these situations. But then she’s a “sheltered” teen. Like at the party, don’t get separated from your friends because if you do, the people that don’t like you, will destroy you and there will be rumors. Please. High School 101.

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. I liked this Austen book. As a lot of you might know, I’m a Bronte fan. Austen is a close second but my heart will always be Bronte. This is Austen’s attempt at jabbing at Gothic Literature. I’ve compared it to like a humorous high school novel, but smart. I really like it. If you don’t read classics, start with this one. In my opinion. It’s not terribly long and once you get into the language, you’ll like it.

Beyond by Willow Rose. First in the Afterlife series. It was interesting. Interesting in idea and concept. Interesting in how it played out and how the world developed. I’m not completely against the book. But I’m not completely for the book. It’s a middle of the road book. Simple book. It’s a girl’s journey to being an angel and this book was the start of her journey. I’m kind of fascinated by how Willow Rose developed how you get to be an angel. For the right person, I’d suggest this book. If you read stuff like Jane Austen all the time, not your book. I, however, am not going to continue the series.

Sojourner by Maria Rachel Hooley. First in the series named the after the first book. Again, interesting. It’s about a girl who has had several lives that she doesn’t remember and then has dreams about how she dies and there’s this guy who she meets at her new high school, who turns out to be her guardian angel. And she suffers from prejudice because she’s a Native American. I haven’t read a book where there’s been this kind of prejudice. I wish I would though. I am not against Native Americans. One of my best friends from elementary is Native and my upstairs neighbors, who are cool most of the time are Native. I however, will not stop in the res by myself. I’ve heard to many stories to stop without someone. It wasn’t bad. I feel like I’ve been there, done that with most of this book. Another book that I’m not going to continue the series and maybe not the author in general. Like most of these books.

The Screwtype Letters by C.S. Lewis. This is one of the books that I wanted to, for sure, read this year. It was okay. I liked The Four Loves better. Good book, I’m going to continue to read Lewis.

Sorry if you’ve waited forever for this post. Hopefully, I’ll get more read quicker.

Leave me comments Yo!

