Last Birthday Post for the Year.

Standard

I will be reviewing books again, one day, when I read something worth while. I’ve been reading some crappy books lately.

Like I said in my last post, yesterday was my birthday. I went out to the Mexican place in town with my friend R and I’m pretty sure I ate way to much and it was a lot of fun. Then I called home. Highlight of the night was this phone conversation.

First niece and nephew sang happy birthday. Then I had a great conversation with my dad about how now that I’m 25 I creek and ache and now I need trifocals. Obviously, I couldn’t keep my dad’s attention and I ended up talking to my nephew. I haven’t talked about the nephew in a long time. If you’ve forgotten, I freaking love this kid. When I started this blog, he was 2 1/2 and now he’s 5 and starting kindergarten in the fall. It makes me panic a little. But we’ve always been friends. We understand each other.

Is it sad that I understand a 5-year-old that is my nephew?

We talked about how strong bricks are and what he did at day care and we played guess what A had for breakfast, and what he was doing at Grandma and Grandpa’s. Best part of this conversation was when he asked me if I was a kid at Grandma and Grandpa’s once. I told him yes, and that I lived there for 18 years which is longer than he’s been alive. He goes “Wow, that’s a long time”. That was funny to me. Why?……………… Great question to which I have no answer to. Then he goes “Grandma’s staring at me”. I replied “Stare back”. I’m the rebel of the aunt world. I’m going to be his best friend when he’s a teenager. I promise I will.

Then my niece wanted to talk to me, it didn’t last long. She’s more of a runner, no I take that back. She’s a year and a half younger than my nephew and she just doesn’t stand for talking on the phone much in her life.

Book reviews comings soon-ish. I promise.

2 responses »

Leave me comments Yo!

