Books and Blogs. Blogs and Books

Standard

Some random Blog Stuff
So thank you bloggers for yesterday. Please take the innuendo out of that. I gained 6 followers and had 14 likes on yesterday’s post. Totally unexpected. And that post wasn’t great. It was half-assed. But thanks. Every time I get a new subscriber I feel the need to be amazing. Oh are you going to get a surprise new subscribers, I am mediocre at best.

I’ve had this blog for almost 3 years. I’ve posted seriously since about July ish. This started right after college to keep me writing and thinking. (purely selfish motives) Then I would blog sporadically and now I’m trying to do several posts a week. I’ve also started reading other people’s blogs and finding out what I like and subscribing more. I love reading other people’s blogs, I love writing this blog (even though it’s not that great, in my opinion). I think if it weren’t my excitement for other bloggers, this blog would still be sporadic.

I can’t stress how much fun I’ve had doing this. I just like talking about books and life. Again, I live alone and I need someone or something to bounce off ideas. This is just convenient. The fact that other people want to read what I have to say is just a perk and super flattering. Just don’t expect a lot from me. Please.

Some random Book Stuff
I’m reading The Scottish Prisoner by Diana Gabaldon. It’s a Lord John book. I tried a L.J. before and wasn’t a big fan but this one has Jamie freaking Fraser in it. I love Jamie Fraser. There’s a lot of him in this book. It’s really nice to see him in the period between Claire’s appearances. It gets you a little bit into his mental state without Claire. I enjoy it. I never got enough of Jamie during this period. There’s probably going to be a post about it. I still have 200 pages to read then a preview of Book 8 of the Outlander series! I’m so excited. I’ve always wondered if Gabaldon could write a short book. Probably not. I’m at the point with this series that it’s drawing to an end and I want the next book but I don’t at the same time because I don’t want it to end.

I started listening to Eragon by Christopher Paolini. I talked about the series a while back and I’m listening to it now because it’s not a hard series and I like sound when I’m working alone. In an empty museum. With no one coming to see me. I live alone……..Feel bad for me yet? Anyway Book is so much better than the movie. There might be another post about the series. I haven’t decided yet.

I found something that I completely agree with. It’s about love triangles in lit.

Books I’m really wanting to read.
Book 8 of the Outlander series. AND I still have to wait for this book until later in the year. GAR.

I kind of want to read Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion now. I haven’t seen the movie but from the reviews I’ve seen and read about the book, it sounds half way decent. But I’m going to wait until the hype goes down. That way I can get the open mouth stare as people are in awe that I waited so long. That’s how I roll.

Beauty and the Beast by Jenni James. I’m going through this obsession with the story. And it looks really good.

The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. This was the campus read at the junior college I went to the semester after I left. I was upset.

That’s only a few books that I want to read. More later.

Leave me comments Yo!

