Book Talk

Standard

Has anyone else seen today’s Lizzie Bennett Diaries Episode? Lord, I about peed my pants with excitement the whole entire time. I don’t know why I’m so obsessed with this series. It’s ending this month. This upsets me. There was a video uploaded right before today’s episode by someone else about the stages of obsession of the LBD. I enjoyed it and totally relate. I didn’t want to be obsessed. But I am. Darcy and Lizzie totally kissed today, hence the excitement. I have a feeling they were going to get it on after the video if Darcy and Lizzie weren’t fictional. They showed a thumbnail for Monday’s episode and it’s just Darcy. I love Darcy. I want a guy with Darcy qualities.

I’ve talked about several times about how I like Jane Eyre better than Pride and Prejudice but I would take Darcy over Mr.Rochester any day. Mr. Rochester was a jerk all the way through the book and sometimes you didn’t want to see the good qualities where Darcy totally redeems himself in the book. Sometimes, yes it is hard to for one to see Darcy’s good qualities but it’s easier than Rochester. Rochester was double Jane’s age where I think Darcy is more my age (in my mind at least Darcy is my age). I wouldn’t want to be with a guy who’s double my age. That creeps me out a little. Right now that would be like dating someone as old as my parents. Hence the creeped out feeling.

I finished listening to Eragon today. I have some issues with the voices. I don’t know if it’s because between reading the books and watching the movie (which wasn’t great, but it can somewhat hold its own) but I don’t understand the voices. Solumbum the werecat I though should have sounded like the Cheshire Cat but sounded like a muppet. Yes, Saphira sounded like a boy dragon and she’s a girl. Check pronouns for that. Then, when did Murtagh become Scottish? What the heck? If I remember right from later books, Murtagh and Eragon are related somehow. I would think their voices to be more similar. But maybe it’s because they grew up in different areas? Some of the Varden voices were cool. Then the echoy voice at the end. Seriously? That made me laugh out loud. There were some voices out I feel that Gerard Doyle (who read the book) had some issues with voices. I wasn’t a fan of the voices. But then I think Brendan Fraser ruined everyone else’s voices after I listened to one of the Inkspell books. He did an amazing job with that book.

I almost forgot how amazing this series is. Granted, it would be mediocre if I didn’t practically grow up with this series. If I had just discovered this series it’d would be very decent. But since I read this book back in high school, I love it. I think that considering that Paolini was like 15 when he wrote this book, he did a great job at it.

After reading the book and watching the movie, I was a little disappointed in the movie. They changed the story so much and I was just not pleased. I think that it’s okay they didn’t make it a series of movies because I don’t think that the books have that much of a following to justify it. The Chronicles of Narnia didn’t make it past 3 movies so I wouldn’t expect The Inheritance Cycle to. That could be the writing of the screenplay. But maybe I am wrong. And when did Arya turn from having black hair in the book to a blonde in the movie?

So a county sheriff vehicle is sitting outside the museum and it’s been there for a while. Should I be worried by this? I don’t think I’ve done anything illegal but still, I’m a little paranoid. It makes me not want to go get food or anything. I just want to sit and watch the vehicle and make sure I didn’t do anything wrong.

UPDATE: After an hour and a half, the sheriff left. He obviously was just using my parking.

2 responses »

  1. G’Day,
    Thanks for following my blog. I am a bit of a book worm myself so I shall be popping back here to see what you are reading. My favourite authors are Tim Winton, Craig Silvey, Les Carlyon and JC Bendrodt. Have you read any of these?

Leave me comments Yo!

