Covering it up and Maybe a rant?

Standard

To get things started off, it wasn’t a good day at the museum. So there might be a little bit of a rant. People were getting on my nerves left and right. My hair is even getting on my nerves. Dang having long hair and no hair ties.

I have worked with the public for some time. I worked in a tourist trap during summers in college, I worked in a movie theater, then in retail and now I worked in a museum. Total years worked with people on a tourism/service level = About 6 years. So I think I kind of have things figured out with how some people can be. After all this time I’ve found out that I am not cut out to deal with people for a living. And for the record it didn’t take me 6 years to figure this out. Let’s just say, I have figured out some parenting issues that I’m going to try not to repeat with my kids.

Anyway, I have a nook tablet. I love my nook. I’m always on the look out for a new book (okay and games to. If it’s made for kids my niece and nephew’s age, I’m all over it. I’m a kid at heart) to put on it. I was looking today and I made the comment today to my part-timer that I make harsh judgments of books just by the cover. Yes, I judge a book by its cover. But when you have two people who are suggested to be naked under a covers of a bed, I’m going to assume it’s going to have some kind of sex scenes. Trashy or otherwise. That’s all I could find today. I am so ready for something to be smart, easy and entertaining instead of easy brain candy. (slutty books)

I feel like it’s ridiculous how publishers put a trashy cover on a book because there’s sex in it and because it sells better. Why is society so visual driven? Now here’s a question: who gets these books? I have like 1 and that’s because I got bored and I needed something to read on my break. I got lucky with the Outlander series because I feel like it’s classy enough not to have scantily clad people on the cover even with the sex. Maybe because you actually have to think on what else is going on?

The book cover I kind of respect for their cover is the 50 shades books. They don’t have a trashy cover and their slutty. (from what I understand. I’ve made the decision to not read them because I feel I don’t need sex from a book. That’s a subject for a different post) So you don’t have to know what they’re about and innocently (maybe innocently) pick them up and read them. Because let’s face it, our culture drives on instant sight. No one reads a synopsis anymore unless you’re really into books.

Remember that this isn’t just with slutty books but it seems like every genre has their own steotypical cover. Slutty books are just easy……Wait they’re just easy to spot……..Wait I can’t help but make fun of slutty books easyness.

Things like this make me feel like I was born in the wrong generation. You wouldn’t see a slutty cover on a Jane Austen or Charlotte Bronte novel because those books are smarter than books today. If I had a book, I’d totally have something random on there so people wouldn’t know what it was like a pig in NYC holding a bunch of international flags or something. That’s just off the top of my head. I’d come up with something better.

Point being….let’s be better than stereotypical covers. Let’s just be better than expected. (including me) That’ll throw every one of kilter.

Anyway, I don’t know if any of that made any sense or if it was my frustrated mind concentrating on why I’m frustrated and not what I’m saying.

5 responses »

Leave me comments Yo!

