Stop Being Stupid Social Media

Standard

Ionia Martin, this one is for you! Because today I totally understand your frustration. Boo social media! (I know you’re just Facebook Frustrated, but I’m taking it to a whole new level.)

Here’s what happened. The paleontological master’s student that we’ve had at the museum for the past couple of summers as an intern just found out she got into a program to do her Ph.D. work. Exciting right? Yes, majorly exciting. She’s been working as long as I’ve known her toward getting into a Ph.D. program. So I’m super proud of her. I found out on Facebook and decided to give her a shout out on Facebook.

Now here’s the thing. Yes, this news is exciting. Yes, this former intern and I have mutual friends. My problem is the people who like posts about other people that they have nothing to do with. Like this guy that I have on Facebook that I barely know from back home, liked this status and he likes everything that everyone posts. He doesn’t know the former intern. Why does he care? Why is there not a place on Facebook where you have the option where you can decide if there is a like or unlike or an impartial button. Now go and like someone’s post, but don’t like everything by everyone, it’s sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo annoying. It makes me violent, it really does.

Someone else who doesn’t know her, commented and congratulated her. Now yes, this is exciting stuff, but I don’t post on people’s walls about people I don’t know. I think it’s rude. You don’t know this person. Like if you have to but save your likes and comments for people who you are involved with on a regular basis. Is that too much to ask for? No you jerks.

So while I’m completely ranting, here’s some other things. Why do I get suggested pages? I ignore them anyway. Stop giving me ads for “fixing” my singleness. I’ll fix it myself thank you very much. Why are there ads anyway? Why does Facebook change all the time? I don’t need all these games and updates or anything. All I want is to keep in touch with family and friends. Why do I have to scroll all the way through random things that my friends “Share”? They’re just random quotes. If I want quotes, I’ll go to Pintrest and re-pin them.

That’s another thing. Pintrest, I love you. I really do. You save me when it comes to thinking up crafts for a kids event. But sometimes when I go into a certain subject, I get things that are unrelated? WHAT? Then I get doubles. Pintrest, you are smart enough to delete the doubles when I search an item. You really are.

Then there’s Twitter. Now I get Twitter. I do. But here’s my question on Twitter. When is it appropriate to use hash tags? I feel hash tags have gotten out of control. They’re everywhere. Do kids that have never known life outside social media realize that a hash tag is really a number sign? Or a sharp if you are reading music?

Another thing, get your crap together and spell correctly and try to use proper grammar. I don’t want to have to decipher your post. You don’t have to be perfect. But you is not a singular letter. Act like you received some kind of education. Really. (I could go longer and I think I may have at one time. It’s a touchy subject.)

I love, love, LOVE keeping in touch with family and friends on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Ravelry, (if we’re going old school) MySpace, so forth and so on. But isn’t it a little excessive? Has anyone ever counted how many social media sites you can be a member of including, but this is not an exclusive list, dating sites, book sites, sites to connect you with old friends? Give me one site for each specific thing. Like combine Facebook and Twitter and give the site the best of each site. Combine all the freaking dating sites and then have sub-categories on the site for what you’re looking for. One reading site, one crafting site. This doesn’t have to be hard. Let’s organize the internet. It’s getting a little cluttered.

I really don’t have any big problems with blogging. Blogging is my happy place. People can read and like and comment and I’m okay with that because it makes blogging more fun for me. Though the spam is kind of stupid. But I can deal with that. I don’t get much spam as of yet so I shouldn’t and won’t complain. I don’t have a large following (like I’m still under 100 and I don’t think that everyone reads, but that’s okay. I forgive you) but for me that’s okay. I’m still amazed that the people who are following me ARE following and reading and liking and commenting. To me, I’m not that interesting and I post about things that are relevant to me or things that are running through my head. My writing is crap, you should all know that by now.

This may have been a little overboard and I may be reading way to much into this. But this pissed me off and I thought it was time that it was brought to people’s attention. Ionia, I am with you, whole-heartedly. (even if our frustration is a little different) Let’s go back to a social media free world!

27 responses »

  1. Amen! Amen and also Amen! I couldn’t agree more! Plus I get tired of seeing pictures of cats with memes attached to them. They just aren’t funny after while! Thank you for this!

  2. I think my favorite part of this rant is the “it makes me violent” I laughed so hard I almost piddled myself. I have to go and reblog this now. I read it on my phone in the middle of the grocer’s and people were looking at me as though I had lost my mind. If they only knew.

  3. Well said! I did spring cleaning on social media over the past two weeks – merged two blogs together, eliminated Twitter and Pinterest, deleted several email accounts that I don’t need. Now just a blog, Facebook and one email account! Bravo!

  4. What I find really ironic is that there is no option for a Dislike button. For example, if somebody’s cat has died, I do not Like it. I dislike it very much. I am very sad for them. But do I have the option to express said sadness…No. So I leave an appropriate comment. But I notice that many people do Like it. What’s wrong with you??? Why do you like that your friend’s cat has died or their grandmother is in the hospital? I just don’t get it. And I agree with the obsesive posting. I really do not need to know that you have just put in a load of laundry. I have laundry too and I prefer not to be reminded of it during my Me time, thank you very much. I also don’t care that you are having a latte at Starbucks and just had to post a picture of it. We all know what a Starbucks latte looks like. It’s just not that special.

  5. Amen. I tried really hard not to be on -any- social media sites for the past decade or so, but it’s gotten to the point now where you almost have to be connected to twitter or facebook just to function -_- it’s EVERYWHERE. I feel like I’ve been forced into social media slavery.

  6. Pingback: Ugh, Social Media AGAIN! | Fusteratedreader's Blog

Leave me comments Yo!

