Another Post-No Point.

Standard

So, dear reader, it’s been a few days. Here’s what’s been going on. Sunday I ended up going with the community band to Medora to perform and watch the musical. The performing went well. The musical this year…………mmmmmmm. How do I put this tactfully? I was disappointed. Yay, that was my feelings tamed down. I’m usually critical of the musical because I spent 3 1/2 summers of my life there and was pretty involved in that town and saw the musical (which is different every year) way more than a normal season ticket holder should. It wasn’t great. So anyway, went to the musical drove a little over and hour and got back to B town to unload the bus a little after 11 and got home at 11:30. Jumped in the shower and by the time I got out and finished getting ready and was asleep it was 12:30. I had training yesterday in Dickinson, and with all the summer road construction and the distance it takes me an hour and 20 minutes to get there. Meaning I leave at 6:30 A.M. to be there by 8. I was up at 5. Do the math there. Then I had to hurry back to B town for a Lions meeting. (yes, I’m in my mid-20’s and a Lion International member, I’m just that cool) So I was gone 10 1/2 hours yesterday with 4 1/2 hours of sleep. Do you know how vital sleep is to my sanity? It’s pretty important. I kept it together for the whole time but I got back to my apartment and called home and talked farming with my dad and my mom got on the phone and I was like “MOMMY, I’m tired :(“. Yeah, I pouted over the phone. Mom knows. I also find it funny I hold it together for dad and talk farming and the troubles I’ve been having with my car and then mom gets on the phone and I turn into being 5.

This morning I was doing some catch up work at the museum and thinking about Medora. It was a big part of my life for a while. I was there a total of close to 11 months out of my life but I experienced a lot there, met some really good friends and became more confident there. My parents came my first 2 summers there and the first summer we went to the musical and later on my mom said “Your dad was so surprised that you knew everyone there.” I don’t think people realize that in a situation like that, where it’s a tourist town, there 300 total employees (it doesn’t seem like that much) people know everyone else. You know how you always hear that circus people understand circus people? Medora people understand Medora people. I have jokes with Medora people who aren’t funny to other people, even after you explain them. Medora employees has a language. Example, you are in the Badlands, lots of hills and buttes. But you still know which hill it is when someone is talking about “the Hill”. And Medora as an employee is always more fun than if you aren’t an employee.

I decided on Sunday, in Medora, that I should have been a music major. I could have been a great musician. Now I just fly under the radar, not even that good, and enjoy the fun of it.

I’m reading nothing at the moment. I don’t know what I want to read and don’t have the ambition to read. It’s summer, I should be soaking up the sun instead of working 40+ hours a week and reading.

New song Obsession: “Hollywood’s not America” by Ferras

Random thought: The community band does a version of The Oak Ridge Boys’ “Elvira” and we have 2 tubas in our band and they have a little solo in that song and I haven’t gotten it out of my head since Sunday. I keep replaying that part of the song. Someone needs to record this song for me so I can play it over and over.

Thing I feel guilty about: It was MJ’s birthday yesterday and I was texting her and totally forgot about it. I’m a bad friend. Can I blame the lack of sleep?

Funny story: My mom, sister-in-law and the kids went to Bismarck and my sister-in-law was going to drive my parents’ car and asked if she could move the seat and mom goes “yeah, do what you need to” and the nephew says somberly, “a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do.”

Yeah, that’s about it.

Leave me comments Yo!

