Facts……The Random Kind

Standard

I, typically, am a private person. I don’t usually post really dramatic posts on Facebook, I don’t talk about my menstrual cycle or my sex life with my friends. (well, to clarify, I do allude to my cycle, quite a bit, but only to my bestestestest friends and this blog and I only allude. I blame my cycle for everything.) Being a private person, I hate talking about myself in real life. (because let’s face it, this blog is all about me) Being private and the hatred in me to talk about myself, here’s a list of things I don’t normally tell people.

1. I used to be artistic. I know everyone says this, but I have proof. (at mom and dad’s house, or else there’d be pictorial evidence for this) Then I hit college and it all went away. My maternal grandmother’s family and my dad’s siblings (my dad is excluded because he never was interested) are super talented in the arts and I always joked that I was the least talented person in the family. It’s true. Not a joke. When your family can out sew, quilt, draw, paint, sketch, and instrument you, you’re the least talented person in your family. The one thing I have over all of them is I can out-humor them. I can come up with a sarcastic comment before all of them with the exception of one and we work together.

2. I’m a fan of 1990’s pop music. This includes the bubble-gum pop of the end of the decade. I know I shouldn’t like some of this music because it’s mindless. But I like mindless.

3. I have a history in student government. I was in student government at my junior college. I was a student rep for an organization for about a year and a half and I loved it. It’s weird that the private girl loved a public activity but I didn’t have to talk to anyone outside of the group. I was golden. I was also class secretary 2 years running in junior high. Everyone knew I was the best candidate for the job. The way it worked was, the first day of school starting in 7 grade, you would nominate like 3 people for a position and then just do a hand raise count. It wasn’t very formal. I was a legit secretary.

4. I have weird associations with certain foods. Like, I hate the smell of popcorn. My sophomore year of college I worked at a 15 screen movie theater and I worked weekends and there would be long weekends where I’d work 32 hours in 3 days and so that’s a lot of popcorn smell and a lot of eating popcorn and drinking pop……It’s been 5 years since I left there and the smell still gets to me. I can eat it, just not smell it. Chicken reminds me of the tourist town I worked out because that was always on the menu at the buffet. People will say beets to me and I will automatically smell them and think of the trailer my grandma used to live in on the farm when I was growing up.

5. I didn’t grow up with up with Dr. Seuss. There were always books around when I was little but it wasn’t stuff like Dr. Seuss. Like there was the classic “There’s Rocks in my Socks” (my sister and I will still quote that book. My brother doesn’t though. I don’t know why.) and stuff like that but never the Seuss. And honestly, I don’t feel like I missed out. He’s decent and all but not my taste.

So there’s the random facts about me. It was harder than I thought to bust out random facts.

Talk about random: Random Story. A board member was in today with a cousin and I said something about getting more books in the store and the cousin goes, “I’m working on a cookbook”. Cookbooks aren’t really books, unless there’s like a book and a cookbook smashed together. I was going to make an inappropriate joke about Canadian Mounties but it wouldn’t be true…..I don’t think.

Leave me comments Yo!

