How many Engagements do you Need?

Standard

First- Work story: So I had a speaker at the museum on Sunday. He’s the head of the history department at my alma mater. Never had a class from him, had to deal with him once when I did my internship, but I do know who he is. So he came in on Sunday and we’re talking and there were several times where we walked to the computer or something and we were talking and he puts his hands on my shoulder and back and like does this rubbing thing. It lasts like a millisecond both times and his wife and child were watching and I don’t like to be touched unnecessarily by someone I barely know. The speaker is someone I barely know and this was unnecessary. I know that this wasn’t meant to mean anything and most likely I won’t see this man ever again in my life, but pretty sure that’s how sexual harassment starts. I know I’m overreacting. I don’t like being touched by random people. This makes one night stands really difficult, so I don’t have them. Take note everyone.

So, I have this cousin. He’s about 5 1/2 years older than me, we live in the same town, and we’ve never had much to do with each other and he’s just gotten engaged for the 3rd time. Never married, just engaged. He was engaged once when I was a senior in high school and he cheated on her so they called off the wedding, he got engaged when I moved here 2 1/2 years ago (that was about 3 1/2 years after the first engagement ended.) and they broke up, got back together and broke up and they called it quits for sure about 3 months ago and now he’s engaged to another girl. This girl is from Canada and just moved down here last week and the wedding date is for next September. I don’t know how he met her or what the situation is but call me suspicious, but I’m not going to congratulate them until I see a marriage certificate. I don’t even feel bad about being hesitant about this relationship. Most of the time, I would but not this one.

His dad, my mom’s adopted brother, wasn’t great at relationships either until recently so I’ve tried to give him some slack but it’s so hard not to be critical of a guy that’s been engaged 3 times. And usually I’m a sucker for love. I’m the first to admit that my head and heart get ahead of me when it comes to relationships but I’m a little disillusioned by this situation. I know I get ahead of myself but I never get engaged. Let alone 3 times to 3 different people in under a decade. At least they didn’t

And just for the record, I’m not being critical of him because he’s family, I’m being critical because I feel like this is a little bit of ridiculousness. You would think that after the second time of being “heartbroken”, you’d wait and take things slow with a girl. And I know that the last girl he described as his soul mate and this girl is his soul mate too. I’m confused. How many soul mates do you get in your life and where’s mine? Or do I have to wait until this cousin finds his to get mine? Because that isn’t fair, I want mine. Because if we go to the other side of the family, we have so far gotten engaged chronologically and it’s my turn. Let’s get going.

We were talking about this at work and my part timer goes “That’d be expensive, with all those engagement rings. Unless he just asked for the ring back”, to which response was “oh HELLLLL NO!” really loudly. That would be just sketchy and no one that I am related to is going to be sketchy. Just saying. But wouldn’t that be an awkward conversation, getting that ring back? I think I’d punch the guy that asked for the engagement ring back because once it’s going on, it’s not coming off. My opinion, but obviously not what everyone adheres to.

I didn’t have anything really. I just needed a rant because this is just ridiculous, get your life in order and pick the right girl before you get engaged.

Leave me comments Yo!

