DAY 8. – Most Underrated Book

Standard

DAY 8. – Most underrated book

There’s a lot of books that I could go with for this day. I definitely have an opinion for tomorrow’s post. I’m just going to throw all the underrated books in the air and then catch one while they all hit me in the face coming down. No, I don’t want to do this. I think I’m going to go with The China Garden by Liz Berry. This book is a y.a. novel and something I loved in high school. Not that there’s no love now, just a different kind of appreciation. I actually almost forgot about this book and the other day I had YouTube on in the background and the girl was talking about underappreciated y.a. books and brought this up and I was like “YES, I love that book”. And the word “yes” totally came out of my mouth in capital letters.

This is a book about a girl named Claire right out of high school and her mother gets this job in her home town in the countryside of England and so the moved from London to this remote place and then there’s a hot biker and a little kissing and a garden and some weird family traditions where you marry like your first cousin. That last part sounded a little weird didn’t it? It wasn’t as weird when you’re blinded by love by the cousin. I don’t know why I didn’t notice how weird that was until now.

Other than the creepiness of hooking up with your cousin, the story isn’t bad. It is a y.a. book so you can’t expect huge deep plot. The reason I think that it’s an underrated book is not because of the plot……yes it is. For a young reader, you don’t put it together that they have like an incestuous relationship, you see the love story, you get brought in by the magic of the garden and you just love Mark the biker and wish he were real. I do. Even at 25. Not enough Y.A. Readers read this book.

I would give you an adult underrated book but… I can’t decide on one. WAIT! Yes there is.

Peace Like a River by Leif Enger. It reminds me of an educated cowboy telling a story. Think of the cowboy version of Phil Robertson from Duck Dynasty telling you the story of his childhood. The writing is smart, there are things and places I know, I just fell in love this book. It feels like home, like dad’s telling me a story.

Leave me comments Yo!

