Weird Things

Standard

I am back home. In an up-coming post, I’ll talk about how I’m feeling about everything but I wanted this post to be a little heavier because a lot of my recent posts have been a little heavy. And I personally need something a little less heavy. Heavy has been my life lately.

I got back into the country on Thursday and I’ve already noticed things that don’t make sense to me anymore. Here’s a list of that.

1. Bathrooms. Here, the lights are in the inside of the room and there is a handle. In the, I don’t know, million times I’ve gone to the bathroom so far, most of the time I have hit the wall outside for the light or tried to pull a string or hit a button to flush the toilet. Also, the actual flush sounds less violent here.

2. Tissues. They’re so soft here.

3. Browning hamburger smells so good. I’m sorry to vegetarians for that but it’s true. I was browning hamburger on Saturday morning and it was lovely. The meat quality in Hungary is different and I never bought it over there because it looked gross to me. For a cattleman’s daughter, that’s a big deal. So when I smelled good beef browning, it was great.

4. Americans are loud and talk fast. I had to jet out of church on Sunday because I was really overwhelmed. It’s not like there was a lot of people in church, there was maybe 20, but the guest speaker seemed to speak very fast, (it was actually normal paced) there were kids talking during the service and everyone speaking after. My parents don’t get how overwhelming that is. I’m used to blocking out a lot of language because I don’t understand. Now that all I hear is English, I pay attention and I get a headache.

5. Driving Uh yeah, I’m a lot slower and more cautious now. It’s been 10 months. It makes sense.

6. I don’t know any news Dad was looking at the news on Yahoo and was like this is the guy? I was lost until he explained the guy was the shooter in Charleston. I also didn’t know people escaped from prison 2 weeks ago. I should have paid attention to the news more when I was in Budapest.

7. So many Americans in America I know that sounds like a given but when you live in Europe, you don’t really notice if people are from other countries (except Americans, you can spot an American from a mile a way. See number 5.) and you move from country to country pretty flawlessly. Then you move back to the states and all there are is Americans. Ugh.

8. I’m immune to paprika We made homemade chicken nuggets (which uses paprika) and mom and dad were like ‘there’s so much paprika’. I didn’t notice. I like paprika.

9. Totally normal to sleep between 9 p.m. and 4 a.m. My sleeping is still off.

10. Got way to used to the 24 hour clock How do you know if it’s morning or afternoon? I’ve seriously thought that since I’ve been back.

11. Doctors I went once in Hungary and it was very socialized. Not like here. Going to the doctor here will be weird.

12. Dryers I did not see a dryer in Europe and air dried everything. Yesterday I was trying to figure out when I need to do laundry for something to be dry. There’s driers. Never mind.

There’s probably more that I think are weird, but this is so far.

About frustratedreader

I'm just an average 20 something female that loses myself in a good book. Life has gotten hectic trying to balance small town living, working towards teaching overseas, finding that special someone and figuring out how life is supposed to work post-college. Thank God for books and knitting!

One response »

  1. Talk about a culture shock for you! I really enjoyed reading your post today. I guess we all get so used to where we live and how we live that we take everything for granted and don’t stop to realize that the rest of the world might just do things a bit different than we do.

Leave me comments Yo!

