Reconstructing Amelia.

Standard

The last post was obviously emotion based. I’m not going to apologize for it. I know some of you are confused by that like why would I apologize. I’ve had several people say things to me that insinuates that I’m being dramatic. I am being dramatic but I’ve watered down what’s going in me quite a bit. And some of the dramatics need to happen. Not all of it, but some of it. So no apologies. I’m sure I’ll rant and rave about something that dramatically again. But I will try to water those down with posts that are not dramatic. So today, we’re going old school post. Book Review. It won’t be a long one but it’s a review.

Reconstructing Amelia is by Kimberly McCreight. Now, I’m moving to our other farm and my copy is over there so if I mess something up, it’s because of that. It’s about a (lawyer) woman who’s teenage daughter, who’s painted as perfect at the beginning, seems to have committed suicide because she got caught cheating. The book goes between the mother dealing with Amelia’s death and Amelia the months prior to dying. Then there’s blog posts and Facebook posts. All of it’s tied together. One thing that I noticed about half way through reading is that it’s compared to Gone Girl. I should have noticed that before because it’s on the front cover and the back cover and it’s notable. I didn’t notice it because I was more interested in what the book was about. At first, the comparison kind of bothered me. Any comparison between kind of bothers me. A book shouldn’t be compared to another book. I’ve done it before but when it gets to a level of ridiculousness, it bothers me. And this is on both covers. Think the publishers want to sell their book by jumping on the success of another book? But I kept reading. I see the comparison. There’s a lot of stuff that comes out throughout the book. Amelia’s involvement with a secret club, things she did with and for the club, Ben’s identity, Amelia’s father, what happened on the roof when Amelia jumped, Amelia’s relationship. There’s lots twists and turns like Gone Girl. But it’s different. It’s watered down.

I generally liked it. I’m not always a fan of the flip flopped views, it’s hit or miss, but I like this for the most part. It was almost, ALMOST, cinematic. But it was why it had a flip flop view system. I think that the author wanted to move things along and keep the intrigue going and it was done relatively well. Could it have been done better? Probably. But done pretty well.

In this book, there’s a lot about high school culture. Mean kids/girls, social media, school activities, pier pressure. I wondered how I would have reacted in that situation at 15. (which is how old Amelia was) First of all, I don’t think I would have done some of the things Amelia did for this secret club. I was a little bit of a loner thought and no one really cared. And I went to a very small school so if there were a secret club, everyone would know about it (which they did in the book) and everyone would know about the things you had to do to get in. I think, that part, I would have laughed at the club and wouldn’t have done it. Amelia did it because, I think, she wanted to be accepted by some of the club members and if you read the book you know which member I’m talking about. I would have had a hard time with the mean girls though. I never felt bullied in high school and I was always somewhat accepted but I was also involved in enough, not much but enough, and I was also a little protected by my class. So I never had to deal with bullies like this. So I was lucky. Not everyone is that lucky.

I like the emotion in this book and thought all emotions were appropriate. There’s a lot of emotion that the book has to deal with because of the subject matter. But it was good. Do I recommend it. Yes.

Leave me comments Yo!

