A Simple Plan Review

Standard

Sometimes I wonder why I keep reading a certain book. I don’t need to read a certain book all the way through if I don’t like it. I don’t even feel the need to finish it for the blog. Well a little bit but nothing that would keep me up at night. The author doesn’t know me. I’m sure they wouldn’t be overly upset that I didn’t finish their book. I read and finished A Simple Plan by Scott Smith and it’s one of those books that I wonder why I kept reading.

I didn’t like a single character in this book. No one seemed that honest. Yes, Sarah and Hank both talked about being honest and reporting the accident and turning in the money but it didn’t seem like they fought very hard for it. The money got to them. And they couldn’t even use it in the end. All that death and no money. And Jake and Lou couldn’t have that much of simpletons. To me, the author set it up where Hank and Sarah were far superior mentally to Jake and Lou. It was set up in the book like that for a reason, I get that. There was a very specific reason. But how could you not see that coming? I would have been surprised if Jake and Lou would have turned on Hank and Sarah and ended up killing them and Jake and Lou got all the money. Yes, the narrator would have been killed. But that’s where it gets interesting when the narrator changes. Oh. Maybe that would have been too hard for Smith? He probably just wanted to work with an intelligent character and felt like he was too above a character like Jake who cries at every murder. Another thing that bothered me was that Hank and Sarah were the only smart people in the area. No one questioned anything. Oh, snowmobile accident and you died, too bad. Oh, lover’s quarrel and like 4 people dead and Hank just happens to be there, too bad. Oh, no surveillance cameras in the liquor store by the airport. That’s convenient. I know this was in 1980’s but they were smarter than this in the ‘80’s. I’m like 96% sure.

I have a hard time believing that Hank just stopped killing at the end of the book and went on to live a normal life and no one questioned him on anything. Like his brother died and to me it seemed like he was obviously transparent with his grief. Actually, I can’t say that. Maybe it was real and that’s just how Hank deals with killing his own brother. Maybe Hank didn’t feel as much remorse with killing Jake and Lou because they weren’t close and Hank felt that he was getting retribution for them making fun of him and making him feel like he wasn’t a part of their little group. I don’t know. I just don’t think Hank and his family could have just gone on living without ever talking about it ever. There has to be some guilt or something. I have a hard time that people wouldn’t feel some kind of guilt after a situation like this. Maybe I just have too much faith in humanity.

I think 2 posts ago I complained about the inconsistency of the chapters. This book had consistent chapters. They were consistently long. 47 pages is a little much in my opinion. Have a chapter a decent length so it keeps a reader’s attention. In a book that’s over 400 pages, there should be more than 12 chapters right? Am I going crazy with this chapter thing? I never had a problem with chapter length before. Maybe I’m getting a little too picky. Because of the chapters, it kind of ruined the book for me for after work. Who wants to get off work from a nursing home at 11:45 p.m. and read that huge of a chunk of a chapter? I like my option to stop after a normal sized chapter. Why am I obsessing over this? Oh my God.

When I get a book and I start reading it, I go through the front page by page to see if there’s a book mentioned that interests me or something of the sort. They had the author bio in the front. I don’t know if I’ve seen it like this before. All it said was Scott Smith, the title of the book and then Scott Smith was educated at such and such universities and this is where he lives. It was 2 sentences and it was like the second page in. I don’t like that. Leave it to the end. And looking at the colleges he went to, I kind of expected better literature from him, especially with a second novel. Random question. How many quotes promoting a book is allowed on that book? On my copy of this book, there’s one on the front and 4 on the back, then there’s more on the first page, front and back. On the covers, it was to fill up space? And in the book, it’s because it’s customary? I don’t know. It just seemed excessive. Like the author and publisher needed to feel better about themselves and slather the book in praise. I know I’m being harsh on this book but I can’t help it. Smith just set me up for that.

Leave me comments Yo!

